Australian Development Scholarship

Published on Dec 24 2012 // AUSTRALIA

About Australian Development Scholarships

Australian Development Scholarship

Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) are long term development awards administered by AusAID. ADS aim to contribute to the long term development needs of Australia’s partner countries in line with bilateral and regional agreements. They provide opportunities for people from developing countries to undertake full time undergraduate or postgraduate study at participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

The study and research opportunities provided by ADS develop skills and knowledge of individuals to drive change and contribute to the development outcomes of their own country.

Awards benefits

ADS are offered for the minimum period necessary for the individual to complete the academic program specified by the Australian higher education institution, including any preparatory training. The following benefits generally apply:

  • Full tuition fees.
  • Return air travel—payment of a single return, economy class airfare to and from Australia, via the most direct route.
  • Establishment allowance—a once only payment of A$5,000 as a contribution towards as accommodation expenses, text books, study materials.
  • Contribution to Living Expenses (CLE) is a fortnightly contribution to basic living expenses paid at a rate determined by AusAID. From 1 January 2013, CLE payable to Scholars studying under an ADS is A$30,000 per year.
  • Introductory Academic Program (IAP)—a compulsory 4-6 week program prior to the commencement of formal academic studies covering information on life and study in Australia.
  • Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC) for the duration of the award (for award holder only)—provided to cover the student’s basic medical costs (with the exception of pre existing conditions).
  • Pre-course English (PCE) fees—if deemed necessary PCE may be available for students for in-country and/or in-Australia training.
  • Supplementary Academic Support may be available to ensure a Scholar’s academic success or enhance their academic experience.
  • Fieldwork (for research students only)—may be available for eligible research students for one return economy class airfare via the most direct route to their country of citizenship or within Australia.

Award conditions

Applicants who want to accept an AusAID Scholarship will need to sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia declaring that they will comply with the conditions of the Scholarship.

Awardees are required to leave Australia for a minimum of two years after completing their Scholarship. Failure to do so will result in the awardee incurring a debt for the total accrued cost of their Scholarship.

More information

Frequently asked questions Supplementary Awards

Australian Leaderships Awards

The Australian Leadership Awards (ALA)  are supplementary to the Australian Development Scholarships (ADS). Only 200 awards are available globally on an annual basis. Therefore, selection for an ALA is highly competitive. It is based on a candidate’s professional and personal qualities, academic achievement and, most importantly, their commitment to contribute to development outcomes for their country and region. Awardees undertake a Leadership for Development Program which provides opportunities to enhance leadership capacity and extend networks while the scholars are in Australia.

Allison Sudradjat Award

The top Australian Leadership Award recipients from Indonesia and PNG may also be eligible to receive an Allison Sudradjat Award.

Prime Minister’s Pacific–Australia Awards

The Prime Minister’s Pacific–Australia Awards (PMPA Awards) are offered to recipients of long-term development awards (Australian Development Scholarships and Australian Leadership Award Scholarships) from the Pacific, Papua New Guinea and East Timor, who are leaders or potential leaders in their country.

The awards provide a combination of work placements and leadership training to build on awardees’ academic experience. The aims of the PMPA Awards are to:

  • assist nation building through strengthening institutional capacity and leadership in the Pacific and East Timor
  • build strong and abiding links between people in Australia and countries in the Pacific.

Up to 120 eligible postgraduate scholars from the Pacific will receive an award between 2010–14. For more details visit the PMPA Awards website (external website)

GD Star Rating
GD Star Rating
Australian Development Scholarship, 10.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
Clip to Evernote



comment closed