Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) for African Students

Published on Mar 08 2013 // AFRICA

Australian Government-funded Development Scholarships (ADS) for African Students 

Australian Government-funded Development Scholarships

Course(s) Offered: Available courses
Course Level: Postgraduate (masters, PhD, short courses)
Provider: Australian Government
Coutry to Study in: Africa (short courses), and Australia
Scholarship Description 
The Australia Awards in Africa (AAA), an initiative of the Australian Government, is a pan-African program of development scholarships and fellowships that offers 1,000 postgraduate scholarships each year to eligible African professionals.

Australia is committed to developing the capacity and leadership skills of Africans to enable them to contribute effectively to development in their home countries. Over the past three years, the number of scholarships available for African professionals has increased ten-fold to a total of 1,000 development awards annually. One-quarter of all Australia’s development scholarships are now directed to Africa.

Australia Awards comprise four categories of scholarship:

  • Long-Term Awards: Postgraduate scholarships that lead to an academic qualification from an Australian university
  • Australian Leadership Award Scholarships: Supplementary scholarships for recipients of Masters-level Awards that aim to enhance leadership in tackling development challenges
  • Short Course Awards: Targeted professional development courses in a specialised field, with a duration of between one and three months
  • Australian Leadership Award Fellowships: Fellowships hosted by an Australian organisation that are intended to build long-term relationships between Australia and African professionals

The 2014 Masters Australian Development Scholarships applications are now open for up to 1,000 African Students.

You are only eligible for an Award if these apply:

  • You must not be more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
  • You must have at least three (3) years’ relevant post graduate work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
  • You possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognized Institution of at least 4 years in length with at least a 3rd Class Pass.
  • Public sector candidates must comply with Government of your country regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships
  • Public sector, private sector and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completion of the National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) (for Nigerian candidates- visit adsafrica.com.au for country specific requirements) when they apply.
  • You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree
  • You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award

Target groups

  • You are a national of an African country. See country list below
  • You are an early or mid-career professional working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.
  • You wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. You cannot study a Masters of Business Administration.
  • You have a clear vision for how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
  • Gender Equality: Australia Awards target equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged, and mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees.
  • Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship. Applications from people with a disability are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.

Eligible groups
African Countries: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo(Republic of), Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome & Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia

In addition to the above, the following countries are eligible for Short Course Awards (SCAs) for the 2013 Intake: Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Mauritania, Niger, North Sudan, Republic of Guinea, South Sudan

NOTE: Please refer to the country pages here for specific country-based scholarship information and submission deadlines for the 2013 Intake. Sectors of focus for ADS are agreed with each participating Partner Government. The country specific information for applicants’ home country will indicate what those priority sectors are.

Participating Institution(s)
All accredited Australian institutions of higher learning

Fields of study
The Scholarship is for Master’s Degree and Short Courses in various field of study specific for difference countries (see country specific details from link below)

Current Priority Fields include:

  • Agriculture/Food Security
  • Health (including HIV/AIDS)
  • Natural Resource Management including Mining Governance
  • Public Policy (including public sector management, public sector reform, trade, international diplomacy)
  • Water and Sanitation


  • For studies commencing in 2014, Long-Term Awards are available to eligible applicants from 28 African countries.
  • Short Course Awards are available for studies in a range of priority sectors including Agriculture, Maternal and Child Health, Mining Governance and Public Policy. Studies are conducted at locations in Africa and in Australia for periods up to 3 months. Short course awards are available to eligible applicants from 51 African countries.

Number of awards
Upto 1000 scholarship awards will be given

Sponsorship duration
Awarded for the duration of the Masters degree, PhD program or short course stay

Scholarship benefits
Covers full financial support for the postgraduate programmes

Method of Application
Applications may be submitted as Electronic/Online or as Hard Copy applications.
See the following pages:

Please see link below for country-specific details on application

From 1 September 2012, Applications will be accepted for the following Awards:

  • Short Course Awards for 2013: Closing date 30 November 2012 - closed
  • Long-Term Awards (Masters-level Awards) for 2014: Closing date 14 December 2012 - closed
  • Long-Term Awards (PhD Agriculture) for 2014: Closing date 31 March 2013

Should you require further information on the Australia Awards in Africa program we would encourage you to contact us directly.

  • Postal Address:
    Att: ADS Program Manager
    Private Bag X38
    Hatfield, Pretoria
    South Africa 0028
  • Physical / Couriering Address:
    Building 3, 3rd Floor
    Hatfield Square
    1140 Prospect Street
    Hatfield 0028
    Pretoria, South Africa
  • Email: enquiries{at}adsafrica.org
  • Tel: +27 (0) 12 362 4360

Complete contact details are provided on the ‘Contact Us’ page.

Scholarship Application Deadline: 30 Nov 2012 / 14 Dec 2012 / 31 March 2013
Open to International students: Yes (ONLY Africans)

Resource: Frequently Asked Question

GD Star Rating
GD Star Rating
Clip to Evernote



comment closed